Liberals Win Majority In Ontario’s Provincial Election

The results are now in, and as they say in horse racing, the results have been made official. The Ontario Liberal Party has won a majority government in Ontario’s 2014 Provincial Election.

As of 11:00 p.m. (ET), both CTV and CBC put the seat totals as follows.

  • LIB – 58
  • PC – 27
  • NDP – 22

The difference in seats is mainly between the Liberal Party and the Progressive Conservative Party. While the New Democratic Party is projected to gain one seat, the swing comes in PCs losing possibly ten seats and nine of those seats essentially turning Liberal Red.

At approximately 10:50 p.m. during his address to his campaign headquarters, Tim Hudak announced that he would not lead the PC Party into the next provincial election. Hudak was re-elected in his riding of Niagara West-Glanbrook, as was NDP Leader Andrea Horwath in Hamilton Centre and Liberal Leader Kathleen Wynne in Don Valley West.

From the harness racing sector, Anthony MacDonald (PC) finished second to incumbent Liz Sandals (Liberal) in the Guelph riding. Dr. Chris Robson (PC) also was a runner-up to an incumbent, Teresa Armstrong (NDP) in London-Fanshawe.

(Standardbred Canada)

Share Button